Emporia Recreation Commission


  • 5:30 pm
  • 3rd Monday of every month
  • Recreation Commission


Vacancies: 0

The Recreation Commission is a joint function of the City and the Emporia Board of Education. It is composed of five members, one is appointed by the City Commission, one by the Board of Education, one member of the City Commission, one member of the Board of Education and one elected by the other members of the Commission. The Recreation Commission is responsible for the community recreation program.

Members serve a four-year term which expires on July 1 and may serve no more than two consecutive terms. 

Visit the Emporia Rec website.

  • Tom McEvoy, Emporia Rec Liaison
  • Susan Brinkman, City Commission
  • Jeremy Dorsey, Chair
  • Aaron Trelc, Vice-Chair
  • Ryan Karjala, Secretary
  • Michael Helbert
  • David McGehee