Regional Development Association of East Central Kansas Board


  • 7:00 am
  • 2nd Friday of every month
  • Trusler Business Center


Vacancies: 0

The Articles of Incorporation and By-laws for the Regional Development Association were approved by the City Commission on March 17, 1993. A seven-member board of directors was established consisting of 2 appointments by the City Commission, 2 appointments by the County Commission, 1 appointment by the Emporia Area Chamber of Commerce, 1 appointment by Emporia Enterprises, 1 appointment by the Board; along with three ex-officio Members consisting of the City Manager, Chamber President/CEO, and Lyon County Counselor.

Members serve a 3-year term and may not serve more than two consecutive three-year terms. The first year one of the City appointments and one of the County appointments will only be for a one-year term and thereafter will be a three-year appointment. 

The Board of Directors selected a director who started to work on February 21, 1994. The Board was charged with the responsibility of determining the direction the community or the area would take in terms of economic development activities. This could include policy recommendations to the appropriate governing bodies, marketing efforts for the community, and land development issues for the community.


  • Brad Kraft - Chair
  • Kala Maxfield - Vice-Chair
  • Becky Smith-City Commissioner
  • Bruce Boettcher
  • Cory Haag
  • Doug Peck
  • Jamie Sauder
  • Jim Shepherd